Traces of the past
Like to see a medieval walled house from the inside? Visit Museum Flehite in the city centre of Amersfoort, which consists of three houses built around 1540. The buildings show traces of the residents and users who lived and worked there over the centuries. Ask at the reception for notes on the building history as you discover old furnaces and wall paintings from long ago.
As a city museum, Museum Flehite uses objects and paintings to illustrate the history of Amersfoort. A fine example is the story of city carpenter Leendert Nicasiusz, who was able to stop a fire from destroying the Tower of Our Lady in 1651. Another eye-catcher is the city chest from the 15th century, made from a single piece of wood and equipped with no fewer than nine locks. This was used to store the revenue from fines and the silver seal stamp of the city. To prevent anyone from stealing its contents, the keys were held by various notables.
Museum Flehite also tells the story of the Miracle of Amersfoort, related to a statue of Mary that was said to have performed miracles for centuries and turned the city into a place of pilgrimage. Another highlight is a temporary exhibition about Johan van Oldenbarnevelt, the statesman who played a major role in the establishment of what is now the Netherlands. In remembrance of his death 400 years ago, the museum features the sword that was used to behead him.
- every Mondayclosed
- every Tuesdayfrom 11:00 to 17:00
- every Wednesdayfrom 11:00 to 17:00
- every Thursdayfrom 11:00 to 17:00
- every Fridayfrom 11:00 to 17:00
- every Saturdayfrom 11:00 to 17:00
- every Sundayfrom 11:00 to 17:00
- CJP (Cultureel Jongeren Paspoort)€6.00
- MJK (Museumjaarkaart)€0.00
- Admission fee: € 10,-. Free entrance for children under 18.